Easy Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream

For the winter, the machine stayed in the freezer, waiting to be used, but we did not want ice cream in the cold winter.  We keep our home, cold by normal standards.  There was no desire on our parts for cold food, even a treat, like ice cream.  I would see recipes that appealed to me but they appealed in name only.  Even the yummiest sounding did not move that ice cream maker. (neither of the two ice cream makers.  I am one too.)

Then, this hot, oppressively hot summer came and what could be better than ice cream and I have been making the creamy delight, whenever possible.  The last flavor, I made was strawberry and I was really surprised how much better it was than store-bought.  The true flavor of strawberries came through.  I made it, leaving little flecks of strawberry, throughout and  we enjoyed hitting pure strawberry in the midst of the cream.

The other day, one of my grandson came over and I brought him homemade chocolate cookies and even better, some of the strawberry ice cream.  This is a grown-up grandson which made his reaction rewarding.  He looked at me, with a look that said, “Wow”, and asked if I really make my own ice cream.  After his first bite, he wanted to know what was in it.  I gave an ice cream lesson.

As food bloggers, we take for granted our own growth in cooking and even our personal expansion of our repertoire of recipes.  Others may not appreciate this or they may be in awe.

Easy, Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream  (I cut this down because my ice cream maker only holds 1 1/2 quarts but I

 am leaving the original measurements.)  (adapted from All Recipes)
 Yield 8 servings
Ingredients
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups mashed fresh strawberries
 Directions
  1. In a large bowl, combine the milk, cream, sugar, salt, vanilla, strawberries, and food coloring. Pour the mixture into the freezer bowl of an ice cream maker, and freeze according to manufacturer’s directions.
3 comments on “Easy Eggless Strawberry Ice Cream

  1. Thanks for linking with Garden Variety Wednesday!

    I enjoyed the story of your grandson. During the summer, my grandpa loved making ice cream with fresh fruit. Usually peaches, sometimes strawberry. You brought back a lot of good memories!

  2. I don’t think I made any strawberry ice cream this summer. I did make ice cream though! This looks great. Thanks for sharing it at Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

  3. This is for sure all day long ice cream eating summer….great recipe!

    Thank you for sharing this at Foodie Wednesday. Hope to see you there today with another recipe.

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

