Butternut Squash Soup

I have made butternut squash soup, a few times, but never with cream cheese.  For a secret ingredient, cream cheese is a delightful one.  It serves little purpose in making soup creamy because the immersion blender makes that happen.

Speaking of the immersion blender, that has proven to be one of the handiest tools, I have.  When, I first got this, it was like a new toy, and I used it for everything, I could find.  I chopped with it and it is great for that, although, you have to watch the consistency.  I made pesto with it and what a blessing not to take out my big food processor.  I use it for dressings, puree, nuts, chocolate and you name it.

All that is done without the piece that makes it an immersion blender.  Attach that piece and soup becomes as smooth or as chunky as you would have it.  We like chunks in our soup and it is a pleasure to get both the smooth and chunky with one tool and one brief time.

Butternut Squash Soup  (adapted from Country Living)

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

1 very large butternut squash, peeled and seeded and cut into chunks

2-3 cups vegetable broth

1 cup apple juice

1 cup apple sauce

1 cup whipped cream cheese (Yogurt to save on calories.)

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 teaspoon majoram

Directions:

Heat olive oil in large saucepan over medium-high heat.

Add onions and sautee for 5 minutes, until softened.

Add squash and continue to saute for another 5 minutes.

Add broth, juice, apple sauce, cream cheese and seasoning.  Bring liquids to a boil.

Reduce heat to a simmer.  Cover saucepan and cook until the squash is soft.  (20 minutes)  Remove from heat.

Using immersion blender, mix to the consistency, you want.  I stop mine when, there are still chunks floating around but not that

many chunks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is linked to Fat Tuesdays

 

3 comments on “Butternut Squash Soup

  1. I love the idea of adding cream cheese – that sounds like it would go perfectly with butternut squash! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe with Sunday Night Soup Night. I’ll be hosting weekly through fall and winter, so I’d love to see you again with your next soup/stock/chowder recipe!

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

