Chocolate Caramel Coffee Cake

I have been making many similar cakes, to this one, over the years, which is probably why, I made a number of changes.  I added the caramel, smoothed on “sort of an icing“, added many, many chocolate and caramel chips to the batter and used Tofutti sour cream instead of dairy sour cream.

This comes from a cookbook, called Gatherings, which has kosher recipes.  I can’t decide if I like this book or not.  There are certain attributes, I know, I don’t like.  While there are some pictures of the recipes, more pages do not have any.  Some of the photos are not of the recipe but of some of the ingredients.  I am a visual cook and like to see what I am working toward.

There is little generalized chit-chat about the recipes which is because it is published by a private school but I miss it.  We have come spoiled, in my opinion, by how much information, stories and tips come with recipes, in today’s cookbooks.  When there is a tip, it is put on a side bar which is a different color. That, I do like.

On the other hand, it is a comfortable cookbook to use.  It is almost simplistic in its style.  It says what it wants to say and no more.  You know what you are doing as a result.  The recipes are familiar with a few twists.  I am glad, I have the book but it would not be the first kosher cookbook, I would recommend.

Chocolate Caramel Coffee Cake (adapted from Gatherings)

Topping – 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 tablespoon cinnamon plus 1/2 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup caramel chips

Cake:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

!/8 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

1 cup Tofutti sour cream

3 tablespoons margarine

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup chocolate chips

3/4 cup caramel chips

Procedure

Preheat oven 350 degrees.  Spray with cooking oil a ten inch spring form pan.

In a small bowl, combine topping ingredients.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine dry ingredients. (Flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt…)  Set aside.

In bowl of electric mixer, cream margarine and sugar for three minutes.  Add eggs and vanilla, and sour cream.  Beat until incorporated.

Fold in chocolate and caramel chips.

Pour into greased pan.

Sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on top of cake, reserving chips.

Bake for 45 -60 minutes until a knife, inserted, comes out clean.

Remove from oven and cover with chocolate chips.  Place in oven for one minute.  Remove and spread chips over top of cake.  Sprinkle with caramel chips.

This is linked to Crazy for Crust      Tastetastic Thursdays      Sweet Treat Thursdays

Photobucket  This is linked to  Friday Food    CookbookSundays

10 comments on “Chocolate Caramel Coffee Cake

  1. Pretty! That looks so good! I have a few cookbooks like that. While I don’t love the style, you do find some amazing recipes tucked in there.

    Hope you had a wonderful holiday! Thanks for linking up to Momtrends.com Friday Food!

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

