Creamy Spinach and Sweet Pea Soup

This is a soup, I found in the Hadassah Cookbook.  I could not imagine how spinach and peas would work together.  I knew spinach would be dominant but had a feeling, flavor was not going to be big.  I was right.  For someone who likes “close to bland”, this is good.  fortunately, the soup can be fixed with little effort and few additional ingredients.  I would add Cheddar Cheese, about 1 cup and maybe, 1/2 cup of sour cream.  If that is not the answer, I would select a blend of spices and use it moderately.  I like a mid-Eastern blend, I have, in my kitchen.

This is an easy recipe.  It went together easily and I made it, in the crock pot.   Before I left for work, I put in the onions and a little oil and let  it cook, on high for 35 minutes.  I added the rest of the ingredients and let it cook for three hours.  I lowered it to low, when I got home and let it stand, until dinner.

Creamy Spinach and Sweet Pea Soup

Ingredients:

1 cup spinach leaves

1 cup peas (can use frozen)

a tablespoon olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

2 cups vegetable broth

another 1 tablespoon of olive oil

2 tablespoons gluten-free flour or all-purpose flour

salt and pepper to taste

1 cup Rice Milk

Procedure

Heat oil in crock pot, about 30 minutes, on high.  Turn down to medium and add onion and saute.

Add broth, vegetables.

Bring to a boil and add vegetables and seasoning, lowering to medium.

Using an immersion blender or a regular blender, working in batches, puree the soup until creamy.

In pan, mix oil and flour and stir until a thick roux forums (3 minutes).  Add milk and salt and pepper to taste.   Whisk these  into puree and serve warm.

Linked to Sunday Night Soup Nights

4 comments on “Creamy Spinach and Sweet Pea Soup

  1. I did have a fabulous spinach and pea soup at a restaurant in Morehead City, NC, last year. Asked the chef for the recipe twice but couldn’t get it. It was very flavorful and it was garnished with jumbo lump crabmeat.

  2. Wow, what an interetsing combination! Sounds very nutritious, and I agree that you could make a it very tasty by spicing it up a little. Thanks for sharing this with Sunday Night Soup Night, look forward to seeing you again soon!

  3. Pingback: My Darling Mother Made My Favorite Meal | newfoundlandtraveller

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

