Mocha Nut Cake

I have been in the mood for easy baking.  I have no desire to fuss but I do want to make a treat for my husband.  He is the easiest person in the world, to bake for, since he likes plain food and that is exactly what Michelle had on her blog, last week.  She posted a straightforward recipe for Vanilla Muffins at Ms. EnPlace.  I changed the flavor and added nuts since my husband loves nuts and made a small cake, just for him.

Mocha Nut Cake

2 cups flour (I used gluten free)

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

1 cup Rice Dream

1 egg, slightly beaten

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 teaspoon mocha extract

4 tablespoons Canola Oil

1/4 cup chopped nuts (either mixture of one of these – walnuts, pecans, almonds)

Procedure

Preheat oven to bake at 350º F.

Spray a round cake pan with cooking oil.  I made mine in smaller pans but the recipe will fit a square or round pan.

Blend the first four ingredients in a medium mixing bowl.

Blend Rice Dream, egg, mocha and vanilla in a small bowl.

Add  mixture to the dry ingredients, combining just until moistened.

Add oil and stir well.

Add nuts of choice (almonds, pecans, walnuts)

Spoon batter into cake tin and bake 35 – 40 minutes, or until tops begin to brown.

Top with a little powdered sugar, if you want.

Photobucket

4 comments on “Mocha Nut Cake

  1. Thank you for linking up and for trying the muffin recipe. Wait until I tell my son his favorite muffins can be turned into cake! I’m not going to mention the nut part–he wouldn’t go for that ;-)

    Also, I’ll be on the lookout for mocha extract. Didn’t know it existed. Guess I lead a sheltered life when it comes to baking ingredients!
    Thanks again for linking. That tiny cake is the cutest.

  2. Wow! This looks great! Thanks for linking up for Friday Favorites! I’m featuring you this week. Come by and grab my featured button if you’d like one!

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

