Avocado Pasta

I was at Inspired Taste where I saw this pasta and I do want to share, they are giving away a Kitchen Aid so go on over and see if you can win.  While you are there, check out the recipes and sundry other items, you will find.  I am glad, I found the blog and plan to go back often.

My husband doesn’t love avocado although he eats it, when served, but I love it, so this was more for me than for him.  That is so unusual since I love cooking for him and usually make what he wants, before what I want.  I eat a more varied diet and like almost everything he wants.  He can’t say the same.  He eats a more bland diet than I like so I spice up my food on my plate, rather than in the cooking.  This is not necessarily the same but it works well enough for me.

I am married to one of those men who has done a lot for me, over the years, and cooking seems so small compared to all he has given of himself.  There are those moments though, when I want something and this is one of them.  I love this.

Avocado Pasta (Adapted from Inspired Taste)

Ingredients:

8 ounces pasta (brown rice spaghetti)

1 avocado

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1/8 teaspoon salt (I added more on my plate.)

1/8 teaspoon  black pepper

1 medium tomato

1 green onion, finely chopped

Method:

  1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Once cooked, reserve 1/2 cup of hot pasta water then drain pasta.
  2. In the meantime, de-seed and dice the tomato then set aside. Next, add avocado to a large bowl and use a fork to mash into a paste (some chunks are fine). Add lemon juice, salt and a sprinkle of pepper then mix well. Taste for seasoning and add salt and/or pepper to taste.
  3. Add cooked and drained pasta, 1/4 cup of the reserved pasta water and tomatoes to the avocado; toss. The avocado should turn into a thin sauce that coats the pasta, if you need to thin the sauce out slightly, add a little more pasta water then serve with green onions sprinkled on top.

This is linked to This Week’s Cravings     Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays      Tuesdays at the Table     Recipe Sharing       Allergy Free Wednesdays   Whole Food Wednesdays   Cast Party Wednesday   

7 comments on “Avocado Pasta

  1. Thank you for sharing your recipe on AFW! Be sure to check back next week for reader favorites and hostess picks.

    Be Well,
    –AFW Hostesses

  2. Pingback: Growing Avocados from Seed | Coffee Grounds to Ground

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

