Orange Kissed Beets

Although the recipe called for canned beets, I had the real thing, so I roasted the beets and sliced them and replaced the canned variety.  This is an easy recipe and it cooked quickly.  It makes a flavorful side dish and I served it with chicken, green beans and a salad.  That made for a very nice dinner.

Orange Kissed Beets

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup orange juice

  • 2 tablespoons light brown sugar

  • 1 tablespoon oil

  • 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch

  • 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper

  • 3 beets roasted and sliced

  • 2 tablespoons golden raisins

Directions

In a saucepan over medium heat, cook and stir orange juice, brown sugar, oil, cornstarch, ginger, salt and pepper until thick.

Add the cooked  beets and raisins; heat through. . Yield: 2 servings.

This is linked to Real Food Wednesday     Citrus Sunday

5 comments on “Orange Kissed Beets

  1. The name of this recipe just makes you want to prepare it. I am sure it was so much better with fresh beets. I rarely make beets, but I would like to try this as it looks good.

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

