Slightly Crunchy Sweet Potatoes

I know I have praised the plain white potato but have I given accolades to the sweet potato.  It is just as good as any vegetable, if not better.  I have made dishes with butternut squash and sweet potatoes & carrots and sweet potatoes & savory sweet potatoes and risotto with sweet potatoes.  Sweet potatoes are another veggie that you can mix and match with.

Instead of making sweet potatoes with a crunchy topping, I included the topping in the mashed sweet potatoes so every bite afforded one the opportunity to crunch a little.  I do love creamy sweet potatoes but in actuality, these are better.

Slightly Crunchy Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients:

4 medium sweet potatoes

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/4 cup brown sugar

3 tablespoons Rice Dream

1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

1/4 cup chopped pecans, roughly chopped

If you want to add some melted butter or margarine, it will only add to it.  I am cutting back on fats when I think they are not necessary.

Method:

Peel sweet potatoes and cube into one inch pieces.

Boil potatoes until tender, easy to mash.

Add all other ingredients and mash these together until smooth.

It was delicious.

2 comments on “Slightly Crunchy Sweet Potatoes

  1. Mmmmmmmmmmm… Mmmmmmmmmm. That sounds good!!!!

    Thank you!!!

    “Nature goes her own way, and all that to us seems an exception is really according to order.”
    ~Goethe

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

