Brown Rice with Eggplant

When I make rice, I usually make enough for a minimum of two dishes and often for three.  This time, it served the purpose of a yummy side and a salad.  My side was based on a search through my freezer and refrigerator.  I found an eggplant in the refrigerator that was not going to last much longer and found a fabulous tomato sauce, in the freezer.  Unfortunately, I have no idea what was in the sauce other than diced tomatoes.  All I know, is that it was well flavored.

Brown Rice with Eggplant

1 eggplant, peeled and diced

1 1/2 cups tomato sauce

2 cups brown rice, cooked according to package directions.

Microwave eggplant and sauce 4 minutes or until soft or firm enough for your liking.

Place rice into a lightly greased casserole.  Add eggplant and sauce and mix well.

I heated it together for about ten minutes.

* If you want to add cheese to this, I would top it with shredded mozzarella before baking and bake until cheese is melted and slightly browned.

** This would be even better – add caramelized onions

***Chopped green peppers is also a good addition.

This is linked to Frugal Food Thursday     Eggplant Hop       Savory Sunday    $5 Dinner Challenge    Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays    Makin’ You Crave Mondays      Real Food Wednesdays    Pennywise Platter Thursday

5 comments on “Brown Rice with Eggplant

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

