Tons of Chicken Soup

Each year, when Passover arrives, I pull out my two biggest pots and make chicken soup, lots and lots of chicken soup.  I don’t use a recipe.  Rather, I look around and grab almost every vegetable in site.  I did that, this year, and once again, we had superb soup.  It always amazes me, how the same soup tastes better on Passover than the rest of the year.


I end up freezing containers of soup except for the soup, we use, in the immediate following two days.  I take these containers out of the freezer, as I need them and I always add fresh vegetable to the ready-made soup.  That gives the soup a wallop of flavor.  
Usually, I use nothing but fresh vegetables and chicken.  I experimented with each batch, this year and one of those I made a little bit Thai.  I added some soy sauce and cut up ginger and it took on a subtle flavor.  No rice on Passover, for us, so I made Pesach noodles out of egg, potato starch and water and we had mock noodles in our soup.

As you can see, I made this soup, plain, no vegetables, no chicken but yes kneidlach.


Chicken Soup with lots of Vegetables

I am going to give you the ingredients for only one pot.

Ingredients

  • 1 chicken for each pot (In this case, I bought packages of bottoms and used from 4-6 in each huge pot.
  • water 3/4 up the pots
  • 3 stalks celery, cut into chunks
  • 2 onions, cut into quarters (I used large onions)
  • 1 sweet potato, cut into chunks
  • 1 turnip, cut into chunks
  • 3 parsnips, each cut into 3 pieces
  • 5 carrots, cut into 3 pieces, each
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 2 turnips, cut into chunks

Directions

Place chicken in a large pot and cover with water.  Heat water and then lower to a simmer.  Cook 2 hours.

Put all the vegetables in the pot except the parsley.  Cook  for another 40 minutes, again simmering.

Add parsley and seasonings and cook for another 30 minutes.

Remove vegetables from pot.  If you want to serve with vegetables, put in new ones and cook until they are done, about 20  minutes.  Cut them into smaller pieces than the chunks.  You can chop them or make them slightly bigger.

Remove the chicken and break into small pieces and return to soup.

Put into bowls and enjoy this.
This is linked to Sunday Night-Soup Night

2 comments on “Tons of Chicken Soup

  1. Chicken soup with lots of vegetables is my all time favorite soup! Nothing beats it in my opinion, and a great stock is key. Thanks for sharing this with Sunday Night Soup Night, look forward to seeing you again soon!

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

