Tandoori Chicken Burgers

Since I have started blogging, my cooking vocabulary has grown, slowly but surely.  I have made some major mistakes because of my ignorance of a word but I have overcome that.  I have also stopped being embarrassed when I make one of those errors.  Learning is how we grow as individuals and learning often comes from making mistakes. 

It is all those times, that I have made bloopers that I have managed to improve myself, simply by not doing it again.  I have also smartened up, enough, to look up words when I am not sure of them or I am a complete blank.  That is why I found out something about “Tandoori” and that it is made in a tandoor, a special brick oven.  Wise Geek assures us that we can make this Indian dish, at home, although the flavor might be somewhat different.

I found the recipe, I used at Baked Bree, and it was for burgers.  I have no idea if one can authentically make a Tandoori Burger but she did and I did.  Since, we do not eat milk and meat together, at the same time, I did not make the yogurt sauce to go with this burger but the recipe can be found at Baked Bree.

Chicken burgers are a pure joy.  My husband grilled ours and he had the unique problem of not hearing it sizzle.  There was almost no fat in the ground chopped chicken breast, I made these from.  I did find, when finished making the recipe, that the chopped chicken would not hold its form so I added some ground potato chips and some gluten-free flour, just enough to be able to form a patty.  These were certainly tasty.

Tandoori Chicken Burgers (adapted from Baked Bree)

Ingredients

1  pound ground chicken breast
3 green onions
2 Tablespoons grated fresh ginger
 1 Tablespoons lemon juice
1 Tablespoon paprika
2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoons ground cardamom
8 drops of cayenne pepper sauce
salt and pepper to taste

2 tablespoons gluten-free flour

1 tablespoon ground potato chips

Instructions

  1. Put the chicken and all of the spices in a bowl and mix well.   Add the chips and flour and mix gently but well.
  2. Form into 3 patties..
  3. Cook the Tandoori Chicken Burgers on a preheated grill over medium-medium high grill. About 4 minutes per side.

This is linked to Tastastistic Thursay     Full Plate Thursday        Ingredient Spotlight       Cast Party Wednesday       Pennywise Platter  

Fit and Fabulous Fridays

7 comments on “Tandoori Chicken Burgers

  1. Pingback: Chicken with Apricots | Bookcase Foodie

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

