Grilled Cheese Out of the Box

I was looking through all those fabulous grilled cheese recipes from the Crazy Cooking Challenge and I was “plotzing” for one.  A foodie doesn’t simply explode from desire; she acts upon it.  As a foodie in good standing, there was no doubt, we were having grilled cheese sandwiches for dinner.

Then, I had a real dilemma, looking at link after link of grilled cheese sandwiches, how would I choose one, to make, for us?  It didn’t help to explore recipes to find, I wanted to make each one, I peered at.  Not very practical.  I spent time between grilled cheese with tomatoes, inside out grilled cheese, grilled cheese with avocado and even chocolate grilled cheese……..uh huh……chocolate.  What is a girl to do?

This girl shut down her computer, marched to the kitchen, open the refrigerator and took out corn tortillas.  Huh?  What happened to the grilled cheese sandwiches?  Did I give up?  Follow me through my journey. 

The table slowly filled up with food items, the tortillas, Mexican cheese combination, slice tomatoes, some leftover caramelized onions, black pepper and lots of love for my creation to-be.  At this point, it is easy.

Grilled Cheese Tortillas (makes 2)

Ingredients

4 small corn tortillas

spray olive oil

1/2 cup shredded Mexican cheese

1/2 cup caramelized onions

1 tomato, sliced thin

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Procedure

In a large skillet with spray olive oil, on medium heat, toast one side of each tortilla.  When slightly browned, remove and put aside.

If you do not have caramelized onions, sitting around, add 1 tablespoon olive oil to skillet and cook onions, slowly until caramelized (about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.)  (OK, I know you don’t have caramelized onions, just sitting in the refrigerator.)

Take the two tortillas, you have not browned and put them on the skillet.  ( piled everything on it, on the skillet)  Put tomato slices on bottom tortilla, covered with cheese, onions, black pepper and more cheese.  Cover with browned tortilla and cook on a low heat until cheese is melted.   ( I ended up putting it in the microwave for a minute since it was not melting properly.)

You have reached your destination.  Serve with a creamy soup or large salad.  We only ate one because, I had some other interesting dishes, I served.  I would think, one could easily eat 2 or more.

Now, we have a new recipe for grilled cheese or at least, new to me.  If you have  a recipe for a grilled cheese tortilla, please share it with me.

This is linked to Full Plate Thursday       Frugal Food Thursday  

Pennywise Platter       $5 Dinner Challenge

7 comments on “Grilled Cheese Out of the Box

  1. Pingback: Lady Behind the Curtain » Grilled Cheese Round Up-Cast Party #40

  2. Great idea, this looks really good! Hope you have a Very Special Week End and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

