Penne with Tomatoes, Feta and Balsamic Dressing

I have been seeing recipes similar to this one, in several places, and each time, I plan to make it but, I never get to it.  Yesterday, I came across a Cooking Light recipe from July 2009 and I changed my dinner plans and made an adaption of the recipe.  Although, I don’t like feta plain because it is strong, I love it mixed into a dish that perks up with its flavor.  This one does just that.  I left out the garlic and I think you should add some because garlic makes everything better, unless you are my husband, who gets sick from it.

I used to think, my husband ate anything and everything, and now realize that he has many sensitivities that he did not have when he was younger.  He is also more willing to try new dishes which was not always the case.  When we first got married, he would not eat chicken. Who does not eat chicken?  Fortunately, he now eats it and likes it but tuna fish is still a stranger to him, unless it is a fresh fish.

I will share my adapted recipe which was quite tasty.  My one problem was that the Cooking Light recipe called for a white balsamic vinegar and the only one, I have, is dark so the color of the pasta is probably less attractive.  On the other hand, the mustard gives color to the pasta and modifies the dark balsamic.  

Penne with Tomatoes, Feta and Balsamic Dressing (adapted from Cooking Light)

Ingredients

  • 6 ounces uncooked GF penne
  • 2 cups grape tomatoes, halved 
  • 1/3 cup thinly sliced fresh oregano leaves
  • 2 tablespoons white balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons chopped shallots
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard 
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt 
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper 
  • 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil 
  • 1 (4-ounce) package crumbled reduced-fat feta cheese 

Preparation

  1. 1. Cook pasta according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain. 
  2. Combine cooked pasta, tomatoes and oregano in a large bowl.
  3. While pasta cooks, combine vinegar and next 5 ingredients (through pepper) in a small bowl, stirring with a whisk. Gradually add oil to vinegar mixture, stirring constantly with a whisk. Drizzle vinaigrette over pasta mixture; toss well to coat. Add cheese; toss to combine.
Mirror Image

2 comments on “Penne with Tomatoes, Feta and Balsamic Dressing

  1. Pingback: Spicy Penne Pasta Salad With Tomatoes And Artichokes « Romancing the Bee

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

