Ignorance at Work – Cauliflower with Fennel and Red Pepper

Fennel

Fennel (Photo credit: Satrina0)

There was a recipe for a broccoli dish, several years ago, in Bon Appetit, served with fennel.  Fennel is the secret word.  I picked up some, in the supermarket, and wasn’t even sure, it was fennel.  I had to find a You Tube video on “how to cut fennel”, to discover that I picked up the right green.  I have never cooked with fennel, as I am sure, you now realize and this was to be a new experience.

I had no idea what to do with fennel but I wasn’t worried until I searched for something, we would enjoy, and could not find it.  Then, I discovered the old recipe from Bon Appetit.  Of course, I had cauliflower, not broccoli.  Powers of deduction told me the recipe, with some changes would work for other vegetables and I made it with the cauliflower.

Working with a new ingredient, slows me down, not knowing what is supposed to happen.  Fortunately, the video had demonstrated how to cut fennel, slice it and dice it.  I was safe on that count.

Cauliflower with Fennel and Red Bell Pepper

 Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 shallots, chopped
  • 1 fresh fennel bulb (about 1 pound), halved lengthwise, thinly sliced crosswise
  • 1 large red bell pepper, cut into long strips
  •  3 cups cauliflower
  • 1 /2 teaspoon basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 teaspoon cut fresh oregano
  • 1 cup organic vegetable broth

Preparation

Heat 2 tablespoons oil in heavy large skillet over medium heat. 

Add shallots and sauté until golden, about 3 minutes.

Add sliced fennel bulb and red bell pepper and sauté until just tender, about 3 minutes.

Add cauliflower.

Stir in seasoning.

Cover with vegetable broth.

Stir and cook on low for 8 minutes.

This is linked to Fabulous Fridays

See Ya in the Gumbo     Seasonal Inspiration    Muffin Monday   Yummy  Inspirations Breakfast     My Meatless Monday                  Mop it Up Mondays    Breakfast Ideas Monday   Mix it up Monday     Mealtime Monday Recipe Link            Melt in Your Mouth Mondays      Mangia Mondays      On the Menu Monday         Made from Scratch Monday

3 comments on “Ignorance at Work – Cauliflower with Fennel and Red Pepper

  1. I’ve only worked with fennel once or twice. It’s actually pretty hard to find here. Your post makes me think I should try to be more adventurous with ingredients.

    Thanks for linking up!

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

