Cauliflower Tabbouleh

The hostess of our picnic is the amazing Louise from Months of Edible Creations.  If you have not been to her site, you honestly must get over there.  It is unique and fascinating and lots of fun.  Just click here.

Join us on an annual picnic.  Each participant has a letter from A-Z and she cooks something for the picnic starting with her letter.  I chose the letter C.  C  is probably the best letter.  You have chocolate, candy, cookies, cakes, crab, carrots, cheese, ……you see what I am saying.  What do you think I chose?  CAULIFLOWER.  

I do understand you might be happier if I had brought dessert like a caramel cake or a cheese cake.  I hope you will like my cauliflower instead.  I made a cauliflower tabbouleh.

“This is a Tabbouleh (Arabic: تبولة‎ tabūlah; also tabouleh or tab(b)ouli) is a Levantine Arab salad traditionally made of bulgur, tomato,and finely chopped parsley and mint, often including onion and garlic, seasoned with olive oillemon juice and salt.] Traditionally served as part of a mezze in the Arab world, it was adopted by Cypriots, variations of it are made by Turks and Armenians, and it has become a popular ethnic food in the United States.”  Wikipedia

My first problem was — how to spell tabbouleh.  Fortunately, I found several ways so if I make a mistake, just assume, I did in purposely.  This reminds me of a girl who had great difficult spelling.  One day, she spelled the same word, in a piece of writing, 4 different ways.  I decided to discuss it with  her.  I pointed out her four different spellings.  She happily smiled and told me, “I figured if I spell it in different ways, at least one of them would be right.”  It didn’t work for her.  Not one of the words was correct.  This girl was extremely bright  and I am sharing this to disprove any thinking that weak spellers are poor students.  This woman is now a teacher and doing beautifully.

I love raw cauliflower.  It almost seems wrong to cook it.  Take a crisp bite and it is yummy.  This tabbouleh is filled with this goodness.  On our picnic, be careful not to let the little pieces fall on the ground.

Cauliflower Tabbouleh adapted from Eating Bird Food, a brand new blog to me and one, I am happy to have found.  If you have a moment, stop over and introduce yourself.

  • 1 medium head white cauliflower
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 20 cherry tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon  olive oil
  • 1/8 cup fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground pepper, or to taste
  1. Cut the cauliflower to remove the stem and the chop into pieces small enough to fit into your food processor.
  2. Place the cauliflower, parsley, onion and garlic in a food processor. Pulse until the cauliflower pieces are the size of a grain (like bulgur). Place the mixture in a large bowl.
  3. Add the remaining ingredients and toss to mix. Serve chilled or room temperature. Store covered in the fridge for up to one week.

22 comments on “Cauliflower Tabbouleh

  1. C is a good letter! This cauliflower tabbouleh looks like something I would constantly be going to the fridge to snack on. In that case, I’m glad you brought this to the picnic and not caramel cake :-)

  2. Oh goodness Casey I’m so glad you didn’t bring dessert. I much prefer this salad. As a matter of fact, I’ll be “planting” my picnic blanket right next to you so you can make sure I don’t drop ANY on the ground!

    You did a great job and I so appreciate it. Thank you so much for joining us on the picnic. It’s going to be so much fun!!!

    P.S. I never know how to spell Tabbouleh. Love the story:)

  3. Pingback: Picnic Day: Ozark Pudding! « Retro Recipe Attempts

  4. Hi, Your tabbouleh looks good! I have never tried tabbouleh and have always wanted to make some! I’ll be sitting next to Louise on her blanket to share with you with delicious looking tabbouleh! :)

  5. Pingback: A Sandwich fit for a Queen | Kulinarische Zeitreise

  6. I love that this tabbouleh is grain free. I’m gluten free and most tabbouleh I’ve seen has been with either bulgur, or quinoa, a grain that I don’t feel so good after eating, so I try to avoid. I have to try this one out!

  7. Pingback: Eggplant Casserole for International Picnic Day! « Yummy Chunklet

  8. Pingback: Udon salad with honey sesame lime dressing (The Picnic Game) | Piece of Cake

  9. Pingback: Iced Coffee Two Ways « Art of Natural Living

  10. Cauliflower is an amazing vegetable, and I can’t wait to try this for my family! Thank you so much for bringing this to the online picnic :-)

  11. Pingback: Picnic Day: Yam Bake! « Retro Recipe Attempts

  12. Your story about the spellings made me smile. Your Cauliflower Tabbouleh looks so pretty with the turmeric giving it a yellow tinge – very sunny, and perfect for a picnic! It sounds delicious too!

  13. Pingback: Tabouli Homemade Recipe | Coffee Grounds to Ground

  14. Pingback: Cauliflower Tabouleh–Gluten Free! « Art of Natural Living

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

