Poached Soy Salmon

Poached Soy-Ginger Salmon

I made this recipe, a while ago and improvised my way through it.  When I completed it, I looked for the recipe online.  I had never poached salmon before and wanted to be reassured, I was doing something acceptable.  The truth is, that at the point, it didn’t matter.  We had eaten the salmon and it was delicious.  It seems lighter when it is poached.  It picked up the soy flavor but lightly.  I think, I added a little honey, one teaspoon, but I am not positive.  I know, I would add it, if I made this again.  I like a little sweetness when I use soy.

2  salmon fillets

 ground black pepper

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar

1 tablespoon chopped onion
Season the top of salmon lightly with black pepper.

Fill a large saucepan with just enough water to cover the salmon fillets. Add the  onion, soy sauce and rice wine vinegar. Bring to a simmer over medium heat.
Place the salmon into the simmering broth and cook gently  10 minutes.
Remove the salmon from broth with a slotted spoon and serve.

3 comments on “Poached Soy Salmon

  1. Pingback: Honey soy salmon | Yummy Lummy

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

