Cinnamon Expresso Chocolate Chip Cookies

I host the annual Chanukah party at my home.  If I start baking now, I will be all set, come Chanukah.  I like to make one gushy chocolate dessert, cookies and more cookies and some kind of cake.  I am starting with the cookies.  They freeze well and go quickly and I can munch on them and tell you how good they are.

When I spotted this cookie in Bon Appetit, I liked it because it only had brown sugar which makes a superior chocolate chip cookie in my opinion.  It also used lots of chips and I love cookies filled with other flavors.  I used butterscotch and chocolate and was tempted to add caramel but I thought that might be overkill.  This is not a good cookie. It is a great cookie, at least warm.

I have a feeling, I am like many others who no matter how many different cookies, I make, I like chocolate chip the best.  Tonight, that was proven again,  to me.  There is a reason to like them best if they are chewy and a little soft and ooze chocolate chips.

Cinnamon Expresso Chocolate Chip Cookies  (adapted from my Bon Appetit cookbook)

Secret Recipe Club Cookie Party

Ingredients:

Yield:  48  cookies   (Actually I got about ten more than the 4 dozen.)

Ingredients

  • 2 1/4 cups flour

  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar

    2 sticks margarine, room temperature

  • 1 large egg

  • 2 teaspoons instant coffee

  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips 

  • 1 cup butterscotch chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

  2. Place parchment on two cookie sheets.

  3. Whisk flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt in medium bowl to blend.

  4. Using electric mixer, beat sugar, butter, egg, coffee, and vanilla extract in large bowl until well blended.5

  5. Beat in dry ingredients.

  6. Stir in all chocolate chips and butterscotch chips.

  7. Drop dough by rounded teaspoons onto prepared sheets, spacing 2 inches apart (do not flatten dough).

  8. Bake cookies until brown on top but still slightly soft to touch, about 9 minutes.

  9. Cool on sheets.

 I found this online here.

Sweet Tooth Friday                 All the Small Stuff            

4 comments on “Cinnamon Expresso Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Yum – sounds like my kind of cookie. Yes, for me a cookie must definitely be slightly chewy, and I love all the flavours of cinnamon, coffee, chocolate and butterscotch. Bet these cookies would also be great for ice cream sandwiches :-)

    Thanks so much for sharing these with Cookbook Sundays.

  2. Pingback: Soft & Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies « sweetlyvegan

I love when your leave comments. Make my day sunny and share a few words or more.

